Tangle of the Day: Slow Down

20140803-173103-63063842.jpgTangling, or creating zentangle art is a way that I have found to relax and slow down in life. When I am tangling, I am forced to be creative and calm, which leaves my mind free to wander about on its own. Songs flow through mind…as well as ideas…and sometimes I just think about the art. The shape and flow of the work I’m creating. Thus the ‘zen’ in zentangle.

Today I was working from a workbook I picked up this summer in Florence, Oregon, a small coastal town with cute little touristy shops. The book presents step by step diagrams on how to draw certain patterns. Then in the back workbook section, there are areas to practice. This page had two blank squares with the strings already drawn in. The strings break the square into different sections. I left the top square alone for now and focused on the bottom square. I used pattern ideas shown inside the back cover.

20140803-172222-62542456.jpg

20140803-172223-62543609.jpg

I’m tempted to critique my own work, so if you don’t feel like reading self-criticism, stop reading here.

I like the patterns I chose, and I like the shading I added. (This book doesn’t focus on shading, probably because it is just book 1 of a series.) However, I don’t think I had good balance in this piece. The middle sections kind of have the same black background, while the outer sections are lighter, with medium fill. If I were to do it again, I’d want to do the same pattern in both of those middle sections or choose a more contrasting pattern to fit in the center section.

I hope that you have fun with this book if you decide to buy it. Here’s an Amazon link for you: Zentangle Basics, Expanded Workbook Edition: A Creative Art Form Where All You Need is Paper, Pencil & Pen

Leave a Reply

