Friday Night Tangles

Zentangle has been my go-to relaxation device. With a square of paper, a pencil, and a little ink in my micron, I can create a small piece of beauty amidst my chaotic and sometimes ugly life.

Ugly is a strong word, but it represents the pain in my jaw and ear that stems from my TMD. The muscles holding my jaw together seem to tense up with stress and apparently I grind my teeth in my sleep. So my dentist made me a mouth splint and gave me some advice: eat soft foods, don’t chew gum, and relax.

Creating Zentangles is one way I relax. As I systematic fill in patterns, I can focus on clearing my mind from the stress of the day (like potty-training, budgeting, laundry piled high, scraped knees, and breast-feeding) and I can do something simple, like breathe. Tonight I found myself humming and then quietly singing an old hymn. Here’s an excerpt from “The Solid Rock”:

When darkness veils His lovely face,
I rest on His unchanging grace;
In every high and stormy gale,
My anchor holds within the veil.

Refrain:
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand,
All other ground is sinking sand.

—Edward Mote (1797-1874)

So here are some of my tangles from tonight that I did while trying to relax. My two year old started this one:

IMG_1101.JPG

This was based on one I did back in May of last year:

IMG_1102-0.JPG
Here is the inspiration piece:

IMG_1105.JPG
This simple one is a new pattern I’ve been working on that looks like plaid. They wear a lot of plaid in my hometown!

IMG_1100.JPG

Finally, a work in progress. I might have posted this one before. I’m not done yet. I really like this one.

Well, now I am very relaxed, pain-free (mostly) and ready for bed. Goodnight.

IMG_1104.JPG

2 thoughts on “Friday Night Tangles

Leave a Reply

