This Was the Place

Dear Bug,
This was the place where I first met you. Where I held you. Where I kissed your newborn flesh and whispered I love you.IMG_1152.JPG
Now it is rubble. Ruined and broken. Replaced. To think how many were born here. How many died.
IMG_1146.JPG
Did it reach its quota? IMG_1151.JPG
To me, the memories are blessed and few. Visiting a mother as she waits news of her husband, getting wired for my own sleep study, taking birthing classes, making your dad get his head checked after he bonked it, and getting hooked on the Bachelorette while waiting in the waiting room.

But mostly, I remember you, my son. How I prayed for you! How I longed for you. How I was amazed that you came to me. Here. And I called you Bug-a-boo. And it stuck.

I love you, Bug!

Yours Always,
Mama Shauna

2 thoughts on “This Was the Place

  1. Sweet letter to your son πŸ™‚ I just recalled that I was born in that corner room in my Granny’s house πŸ™‚ Thank you for your post because of which I had cherished my memories… TC! Keep smiling πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

