A Project With Heart

I started making some car charms, inspired by my dear Mother-in-Law that loves both the Seahawks and Angels. Before no time, I was making them for friends with all kinds of logos, which led to my latest project: A Project with Heart.

First I’ll show you the sports charms:

IMG_3479

IMG_3480

IMG_3474

You get the idea. Well, a friend of mine had mentioned that she would like one if it was for CHD (www.childrensheartfoundation.org/
A CHD means a child is born with an abnormally structured heart and/or large vessels.) I had already wanted to donate money to support her family as they have had to put their baby boy through various surgeries already, but I never had the cash on hand. So I decided to make some more car charms for her to raise support and awareness for her little boy and possibly for other kids at the children’s hospital with similar conditions.

I wanted to just give her 10 charms so she can raise $100. But she loves them so much that she thinks she can sell 30! My little project is growing. So I’m trying to figure out cost for the supplies. I’m not great about keeping track of numbers, especially while crafting. So I decided to write down all of the parts. 26 separate pieces go into these little charms! I was surprised!

IMG_3544

The charms I worked on last night were not printed on photo paper. I didn’t even really think about it until I started to wonder if I should seal the back of the paper before applying adhesive. (I was worried the E600 adhesive that I like to use might make the ink bleed. And it might, according to fellow crafty bloggers.) I had already applied the clear epoxy domes, and I don’t want to waste them. So I’ll leave that first batch as is. But the ones I printed today are just a little bit clearer and brighter.

IMG_3542-0

IMG_3530

The thing about being an artist or a crafter is that your process is always adapting and getting better. So, hopefully I can live with the less than perfect printing in order to get these done at as low a cost as possible. Anyway, I thought I’d share. If you are interested, I can let you know when the charms go up for sale by my friend. Or, if you want a different kind of charm, just let me know. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

